Formula E – The first all-electric racing series

Formula E (officially: ABB FIA Formula E Championship) is a racing series for Formula cars with electric motor and thus the first electric racing series in the world. The World Automobile Association FIA – also organizer oft he Formula 1 – beats with this race series basically a different way than with all the other race series. Sustainability and the development of electric motors are just as important as the fight against climate change. Formula E serves as a platform for the automotive industry to drive the development of electric cars. More and more car manufacturers and companies are following the trend and decide to get involved in the championship.
In addition, the goal is addressing a new and younger target group, which in turn spurs more and more companies to participate.

Since September 13, 2014 Formula E is held worldwide. The races are held on specially designed street courses right in the city centers to bring the event to the spectators – and not the other way round. Urban space should be used to promote electromobility where it will take place in the future.
In Formula E, a total of 10 teams compete, with each team providing two riders.On December 15, the highly anticipated fifth season of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship will begin in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. It guarantees a great spectacle with a completely new and improved vehicle generation (Gen2) as well as many new stars.

Season 2018/2019 holds thirteen races in twelve cities. Besides the season opener in Riad, venues will be Marrakech, Santiago, Mexico City, Hong Kong, Sanya, Rome, Paris, Monaco, Berlin, Bern and New York.
Since one week now, the new regulations are fixed. At its last meeting in Saint Petersburg, the Motorsport World Council announced that five instead of three drivers will now receive the fanboost. Fans have the opportunity to vote for their favorite driver, giving him an actual advantage in the race. The fanboost is available to the five pilots with the most votes after a six-day online voting. These five are allowed to unlock additional 100kJ energy in the second half of the race.


Here is an overview of the participating teams in season 2018/19:

• Audi Sport Abt Schäffler


• Envision Virgin Racing

• Mahindra Racing

• Nissan e.dams

• Panasonic Jaguar Racing

• Venturi Formula E Team

• NIO Formula E Team

• GEOX Dragon

• BMW i Andretti Motorsport

• HWA Racelab